C-IMAGE students receive the Admiral James D. Watkins Award

ST. PETERSBURG - Last week at the Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill and Ecosystem Science Conference, two of our C-IMAGE students were selected to receive the Admiral James D. Watkins Award.  The James D. Watkins Award is presented only when the highest standard of merit has been proven and recognizes those who have distinguished themselves as champions of ocean science through sponsorship of legislation, development of sound ocean policy, or promoting federal investment to advance the field of oceanography.

Kristina Deak is a PhD student of Dr. Steve Murawski, and Lindsey Dornberger is a PhD student of Dr. Cameron Ainsworth

Published in C-IMAGE

Congratulations graduating graduate students

ST. PETERSBURG, FL - Congratulations to Dr. Steve Murawski's first graduating graduate students.  During the December 2014 Graduate Commencement, USF President Judy Genshaft highlighted the accomplishments of Susan Snyder's work on the Deep Horizon Gulf Oil Spill.


Where are they going from here? 

From left to right:

Elizabeth Herdter: (Continuing as a doctoral student): "Growth Rates in Gulf of Mexico Red Snapper, Lutjanus campechanus, Before and After the Deepwater Horizon Blowout"

Sarah Grasty: "Use of a Towed Camera System for Estimating Reef Fish Populations Densities on the West Florida Shelf"

Susan Snyder: (Continuing as a doctoral student): "Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Metabolites as a Biomarker of Exposure to Oil in Demersal Fishes Following the Deepwater Horizon Blowout

Kristina Deak: (Continuing as a doctoral student): "Cloning and Characterization of IL-1b, IL-8, IL-10, and TNFa from Golden Tilefish (Lopholatilus chamaeleonticeps) and Red Snapper (Lutjanus campechanus)"